Project peak? Audits? Staff downtime?

Home office and mobile working - differences, advantages and challenges

The global pandemic forced companies to minimize employee presence in the office. During the lockdown, one out of every two employees worked entirely or partially from home whenever possible. Even though many companies returned their employees to work in presence after the lockdown ended, one in five still works partially or completely remotely. Before the Corona crisis, on average only four out of ten companies had their employees working off the office premises.

The terms home office and mobile working are often used synonymously, although they are different forms that must be clearly distinguished from one another.

In this article, we explain precisely these differences and what advantages these forms of work involve, but also what challenges they pose:

 
Home office

The technically correct term for home office is "teleworking". The place of work is clearly defined: a fixed workplace in the employee's own home or partly at home and partly in the office (alternating teleworking). In this case, the employer is obliged to set up the workplace on the employee's premises. The set-up includes work equipment such as laptop, monitor, keyboard, mouse, as well as actual office equipment such as desks and desk chairs. These items for working in a home office are regulated by the Workplace Ordinance and are specified in the employment contract between the employer and the employee. In the employment contract, it is agreed what percentage of the weekly working time the employee will work in the home office and how much equipment will be provided by the employer.

 
Mobile work

Mobile working or remote working is a form of location-independent working. Employees do not have a fixed workplace and perform their work without fixed hours. They can either work from home, in a café or from a co-working space. So far, there are no clear legal regulations for mobile working. Employers are also not obligated to financially support necessary work equipment here. However, if a company offers remote work, it is recommended that at least laptops and monitors be provided so that employees can perform their work reasonably and in the interests of the employer.

Important: for the home office as well as for mobile working, the The Occupational Health and Safety Act and the Working Hours Act apply.

 
Advantages and challenges

Taking into account the activities and corporate culture, companies must consider whether and to what extent offering home office or mobile working makes sense. Even though hybrid working models are now standard in many companies and offer many advantages, it also poses challenges for employers and employees.

Advantages of home office and mobile working for the employer

For the employer, this primarily results in a cost advantage due to the space savings. More and more companies are switching to work models that assume that not all employees will ever be on site, which means less office space is needed. This reduces both the cost of the rent itself and the level of ancillary costs.

In addition, both forms of work contribute to a more positive image of the company, as they suggest modernity and flexibility. For many employees and applicants, the option of working partly or entirely from home is now even an important criterion for or against a company.

For vacancies that can be filled entirely remotely, the additional advantage here is that geographical limitations no longer play a major role in the search for new employees. This means that employees can also be hired who are currently unable or unwilling to relocate for a position.

Challenges of home office and mobile working for the employer

Models in which employees work wholly or partially off the premises require a solid foundation of trust on the part of the employer. The employer must be able to ensure that tasks are performed satisfactorily and that working hours are adhered to. In addition, appropriate structures must also first be created for these work models, especially in companies for which home office or mobile working was absolutely uncharted territory before the pandemic.

Advantages of home office and mobile working for the employee

Employees are particularly pleased with both forms of work because of the time saved by not having to travel to work. This in turn provides more free time and less stress for employees. In a study by Malakoff Mederic, as many as 85 percent of respondents said they were less tired and less likely to be stressed outside the office, which in turn has a very positive effect on their well-being.

These forms of work also create a great deal of flexibility. For the most part, employees can adjust working hours to suit their personal needs, which makes it easier for many to balance family and career. Although certain framework conditions are usually agreed between the company and employees, these often only define a very rough framework and most of it is the responsibility of the employees.

Challenges of home office and mobile working for the employee

For employees it is essential to create a suitable working atmosphere at home or on the road. Especially if there are other people or children living in the household and perhaps the premises do not allow for setting up a protected work area. This quickly creates distractions. There is also a lack of interaction with colleagues, which can have a negative impact on team cohesion and the sense of belonging.

On the one hand, this makes it easier to balance work and private life, but on the other hand, it can mean that there is no clear separation between work and private life. The lack of a commute is then often used to start work earlier and finish later. The temptation is high to check e-mails "just for a moment" even in the late evening, on the weekend or when sick, because the necessary equipment for access is almost permanently available, and the boundaries between work and free time become blurred.

 
Conclusion

The trend toward working increasingly from home or on the move will continue to accompany employees and employers in the future. It is essential for companies to at least establish hybrid working models in the corporate culture. Even if, for many employers, this means that new and sustainable structures have to be created here. Many employees, on the other hand, would not want to miss this newfound flexibility after the pandemic. However, it is particularly important for employees to create a suitable working atmosphere within their own four walls. In the following article, you will find an overview of how your home office can also become a success.

General

Cannabis as medicine

Since March 2017, any doctor of any specialty in Germany can prescribe medical cannabis under certain conditions. In countries such as China and Egypt, cannabis has been

Read more »
About Vality One

We support companies in the pharmaceutical, biotech and medical technology sectors in their search for highly qualified personnel on a permanent basis and via contracting. In doing so, we cover the entire value chain of your company and the entire product life cycle of your drug or medical product.

Categories
Project peak? Audits? Staff downtime?

Are you looking for new resources in permanent employment or in the form of freelance experts? We will find the right expert for your needs.

Projektspitze? Audits? Personalausfall?

Homeoffice und mobiles Arbeiten – Unterschiede, Vorteile und Herausforderungen

Durch die weltweite Pandemie waren die Unternehmen gezwungen, die Anwesenheit der Mitarbeiter in den Büroräumen auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren. Im Lockdown hat jeder zweite Beschäftigte, sofern möglich, ganz oder teilweise von zu Hause aus gearbeitet. Auch wenn viele Firmen ihre Mitarbeiter nach Ende des Lockdowns in die Präsenzarbeit zurückgeholt haben, so arbeitet immerhin noch jeder fünfte partiell oder ganz remote. Vor der Coronakrise ließen im Durchschnitt nur vier von zehn Unternehmen ihre Beschäftigten außerhalb der Geschäftsräume arbeiten.

Dabei werden die Begriffe Homeoffice und mobiles Arbeiten häufig synonym verwendet, obwohl es sich um unterschiedliche Formen handelt, die klar voneinander abgegrenzt werden müssen.

In diesem Artikel erläutern wir eben diese Unterschiede und welche Vorteile diese Arbeitsformen mit sich bringen, aber auch welche Herausforderungen sich damit ergeben:

 
Homeoffice

Der fachlich korrekte Begriff für Homeoffice lautet „Telearbeit“. Der Arbeitsort ist dabei eindeutig definiert: ein fester Arbeitsplatz in den eigenen vier Wänden oder teils Zuhause und teils im Büro (alternierende Telearbeit). In diesem Fall ist der Arbeitgeber dazu verpflichtet, den Arbeitsplatz in den Räumlichkeiten des Mitarbeiters einzurichten. Die Einrichtung umfasst sowohl das Arbeitsequipment wie Laptop, Bildschirm, Tastatur, Maus, als auch die tatsächliche Büroausstattung wie Schreibtische und Schreibtischstühle. Diese Punkte für das Arbeiten im Homeoffice sind in der Arbeitsstättenverordnung geregelt und werden im Arbeitsvertrag zwischen Arbeitgeber und -nehmer festgelegt. Im Arbeitsvertrag wird vereinbart, wie viel Prozent der wöchentlichen Arbeitszeit der Arbeitnehmer im Homeoffice arbeitet und wie viel Equipment vom Arbeitgeber gestellt wird.

 
Mobiles Arbeiten

Mobiles Arbeiten oder auch Remote Work ist eine Form des ortsunabhängigen Arbeitens.Beschäftigte haben dabei keinen festen Arbeitsplatz und erbringen Ihre Leistung ohne feste Zeiten. So können sie entweder von Zuhause aus, in einem Café oder von einem Co-Working-Space aus arbeiten. Es gibt für das mobile Arbeiten bisher keine klaren gesetzlichen Regelungen. Auch sind Arbeitgeber hier nicht verpflichtet, nötiges Arbeitsequipment finanziell zu tragen. Bietet ein Unternehmen jedoch Remote Work an, wird empfohlen, zumindest Laptops und Bildschirme bereitzustellen, damit Arbeitnehmer ihre Arbeit vernünftig und im Interesse des Arbeitgebers verrichten können.

Wichtig: Sowohl für das Homeoffice als auch für das mobile Arbeiten gelten das Arbeitsschutzgesetz und das Arbeitszeitgesetz.

 
Vorteile und Herausforderungen

Unter Beachtung der Tätigkeiten und der Unternehmenskultur, müssen Firmen abwägen, ob und in welchem Umfang das Angebot von Homeoffice oder mobilem Arbeiten sinnvoll ist. Auch wenn hybride Arbeitsmodelle inzwischen in vielen Firmen Standard sind und viele Vorteile bieten, so stellt es Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer aber auch vor Herausforderungen.

Vorteile von Homeoffice und mobilem Arbeiten für den Arbeitgeber

Für den Arbeitgeber ergibt sich daraus vor allem ein Kostenvorteil aufgrund der Platzersparnis. Immer mehr Firmen steigen auf Arbeitsmodelle um, bei denen explizit damit gerechnet wird, dass nie alle Mitarbeiter vor Ort sind und somit auch weniger Büroflächen benötigt werden. Das senkt sowohl die Kosten für die Miete selbst als auch die Höhe der Nebenkosten.

Zusätzlich tragen beide Arbeitsformen zu einem positiveren Image des Unternehmens bei, denn sie suggerieren Modernität und Flexibilität. Die Option, teilweise oder ganz von Zuhause aus zu arbeiten, ist für viele Arbeitnehmer und Bewerber inzwischen sogar ein wichtiges Kriterium für oder gegen ein Unternehmen.

Für Vakanzen, die gänzlich remote ausgeübt werden können, bietet sich hier zusätzlich der Vorteil, dass geografische Zwänge bei der Suche nach neuen Mitarbeitern keine große Rolle mehr spielen. So können auch Mitarbeiter eingestellt werden, die aktuell für eine Stelle nicht umziehen können oder wollen.

Herausforderungen von Homeoffice und mobilen Arbeiten für den Arbeitgeber

Modelle, bei denen Mitarbeiter ganz oder teilweise außerhalb der Geschäftsräume arbeiten, setzen auf Seiten des Arbeitgebers eine solide Vertrauensbasis voraus. Der Arbeitgeber muss sicherstellen können, dass die Aufgaben zufriedenstellend erfüllt und die Arbeitszeiten eingehalten werden. Außerdem müssen für diese Arbeitsmodelle zunächst auch entsprechende Strukturen geschaffen werden, insbesondere in Unternehmen, für die Homeoffice oder mobiles Arbeiten vor der Pandemie absolutes Neuland waren.

Vorteile von Homeoffice und mobilen Arbeiten für den Arbeitnehmer

Arbeitnehmer freuen sich bei beiden Arbeitsformen vor allem über die Zeitersparnis des fehlenden Arbeitsweges. Das wiederum sorgt für mehr Freizeit und weniger Stress der Angestellten. In einer Studie von Malakoff Mederic gaben sogar 85 Prozent der Befragten an, dass sie außerhalb der Büroräume weniger müde und seltener gestresst sind, was sich wiederum sehr positiv auf ihr Wohlbefinden auswirkt.

Diese Arbeitsformen schaffen zudem ein großes Maß an Flexibilität. Arbeitnehmer können größtenteils die Arbeitszeiten an ihre persönlichen Bedürfnisse anpassen, was es für viele leichter macht, Familie und Beruf unter einen Hut zu bekommen. Zwar werden zwischen Unternehmen und Angestellten in der Regel gewisse Rahmenbedingungen vereinbart, oft legen diese aber nur einen sehr groben Rahmen fest und das meiste obliegt der Verantwortung der Mitarbeiter.

Herausforderungen von Homeoffice und mobilen Arbeiten für den Arbeitnehmer

Für Arbeitnehmer ist es essentiell, sich auch Zuhause oder unterwegs eine geeignete Arbeitsatmosphäre zu schaffen. Insbesondere wenn weitere Personen oder Kinder im Haushalt leben und es vielleicht auch die Räumlichkeiten nicht zulassen, einen geschützten Arbeitsbereich einzurichten. Das sorgt schnell für Ablenkung. Auch fehlt der Umgang mit den Kollegen, was negative Auswirkungen auf den Teamzusammenhalt und das Zugehörigkeitsgefühl haben kann.

Auf der einen Seite lassen sich Berufs- und Privatleben so zwar besser vereinbaren, auf der anderen Seite kann das aber zur Folge haben, dass eine klare Trennung zwischen Beruf und Privatleben fehlt. Der fehlende Arbeitsweg wird dann auch gerne mal genutzt, um früher anzufangen und später Feierabend zu machen. Die Versuchung ist hoch, auch am späten Abend, am Wochenende oder im Krankheitsfall “nur mal kurz” die E-Mails zu lesen, da das notwendige Equipment für den Zugriff beinahe permanent vorhanden ist, die Grenzen zwischen Arbeit und Freizeit verschwimmen.

 
Fazit

Die Tendenz, vermehrt im Homeoffice oder mobil zu arbeiten, wird Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber auch in Zukunft begleiten. Für Unternehmen ist es unerlässlich, zumindest hybride Arbeitsmodelle in der Firmenkultur zu etablieren. Auch wenn das für viele Arbeitgeber bedeutet, dass hier neue und nachhaltige Strukturen geschaffen werden müssen. Viele Arbeitnehmer hingegen möchten diese neu gewonnene Flexibilität nach der Pandemie nicht mehr missen. Dabei ist es aber für Arbeitnehmer besonders wichtig, sich auch in den eigenen vier Wänden eine geeignete Arbeitsatmosphäre zu schaffen. In dem folgenden Artikel finden Sie eine Übersicht, wie auch Ihr Homeoffice zum Erfolg wird.

Allgemein

Cannabis als Medizin

Seit März 2017 kann in Deutschland jeder Arzt einer beliebigen Fachrichtung unter gewissen Voraussetzungen medizinisches Cannabis verschreiben. In Ländern wie China und Ägypten wurde Cannabis

Weiterlesen »
Über Vality One

Wir unterstützen Unternehmen aus den Bereichen Pharma, Biotech und Medizintechnik bei der Suche von hochqualifiziertem Personal in Festanstellung und via Contracting. Dabei decken wir die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette Ihres Unternehmens und den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus Ihres Arzneimittels oder Medizinprodukts ab.

Kategorien
Projektspitze? Audits? Personalausfall?

Sie sind auf der Suche nach neuen Ressourcen in Festanstellung oder in Form von freiberuflichen Experten? Wir finden den passenden Experten für Ihren Bedarf.